Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Coelho LogoTired of the same old tasting everywhere you go?  You need to take a quick trip our to Amity and visit a family run winery, Coelho!  Here is a place that will give you a truly different tasting experience from anywhere else I’ve tried in the entire Willamette AVA.

They say that their wines reflect their Portuguese heritage and spirit and I for one truly appreciate what they are trying to accomplish.  The tasting room has a relaxed feel, warm colors, a nice fireplace and seating area to relax with friends for a glass or two.

We didn’t taste the entire selection of wines they were offering as we showed up pretty close to the end of the day but I want to tell you about a wine that particularly stood out to me.

2010 TRADIÇÃO RED WINE – A typical tromp through a Willamette Valley winery will have you tasting Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris, maybe a Riesling or Chardonnay, possibly a dessert wine.  Here, with this red blend (which by the way, is made of 5 grapes I’ve never heard of), you will have an entirely different experience.  It is fruit forward but not the proverbial fruit bomb, earthy, balanced, it has some mild spice and a nice acidity.  In my mind, the epitome of a wine that screams to be paired with a grilled steak.

Coelho tasting roomAfter tasting the few wines that we did, we all relaxed with a glass of our favorites in front of the fire on the comfy couches and had a nice conversation to wrap up our tasting afternoon.  We took a few bottles home to enjoy later, one of which I opened last night, which to be honest is what reminded me that I needed to write this post!

Overall, a very nice first impression and I want to visit again soon.

