Tags

, , , ,

For past couple of years Kelli and I have been having conversations with all sorts of people about starting this wine blog but never really got started. Then we invited Tom to be a part of it and before we knew it things were happening. Thanks Tom.

By way of introduction I will mention one of the early ideas we had for the wine blog: nicknames. I kind of despise nicknames but for once in my life I felt like I had one that I could own: The Brut. The first reason I loved it is because I love Champagne. I often tell my friends that there are two seasons: baseball season and champagne season, although sometimes they overlap (the original quote is that there are two seasons: baseball and winter.) The second reason is that I tend to be Brut-ish about wine, wine tasting, and the experience of a vineyard (some would say life in general). In my opinion some wineries clearly get this, and some wineries clearly do not. I personally don’t enjoy the wine tasting but enjoy the experiences: getting out in the sun, seeing some beautiful country, enjoying a picnic together, meeting new people, getting in touch with the Terroir (the place, the earth) that produces all this wonderful wine. I enjoy the wine, but drinking in 2oz shots all day doesn’t appeal to me. I’m the guy who skips the tasting and orders a glass to get away from the crowd at the bar, while the other three amigos soak in the tasting experience. Getting a bottle and splitting it on the deck with friends appeals to me, ordering a glass and taking in the fresh air appeals to me, taking a break from people and playing with a wine dog while sipping some Pinot is high on my list. So in general, if you want good tasting notes, a fun relaxed view, positive insights, or even someone you would like to hang out with stick to Tom’s posts, (his nickname would have to be Riesling because he is the sweeter of us, and he holds up well to things like spice) but when it is time to get Brut about something, to get down in terrior of winery, to meet a wine dog, or note how they missed selling the experience I’ll be there to rain on your parade. Just remember it will be raining champagne.

It should be noted that while Oregon is not true champagne country it produces some fine (and not so fine) champagnes. At the top of the list is clearly Argyle and at the bottom is any place that doesn’t make it using the traditional method (méthode champenoise).

